The Opposite of Me

Ryan walks up and down the isle of the classroom. He floats between our square wooden desks, stopping at each girl sitting in her plastic chair to swing his heavenly hockey hair out of his glowing green eyes and share a look. A frog crawls from my stomach and up my throat as he gets closer to me. I shove my overflowing notebooks back into my desk, straighten my headband and fling one arm over the back of my chair. He stops at me. Looks from my eyes to my forehead and back down to my chin. Ryan shakes his head. He lifts his fist to his chin and speaks.

“Does this make me look like you?” Ryan snickers and moves on to evaluate the rest of the girls.

By the end of recess, Ryan had chosen his new girlfriend. Bianca Gilliam. The opposite of me. Brown hair, brown eyes, and a normal sized chin.

“Congratulations Meggie! You made it through your first week of grade five! How does it feel?” My Mom greets me as I hop in the car at the end of the day. The only sound that follows is the rumble of the engine. “Meggie?”

I can feel my eyes burn red as my throat squeezes itself. I look at my Mom through a fog of tears.

“Is there such a thing as a chin job, Mom?”

Image

Leave a Reply

The Realistic Holistic

mind body weight management

Brewsker

London, travel & healthy living

Nutrition Newbie

-discovering the truth one nutrient at a time-

The TAPA Blog

Toronto's Performing Arts Industry Blog

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

THE FAILED ACTRESS BLOG

I am a failed actress. New York City ate my dreams and regurgitated them all over my polka dot sundress. But I'm owning it.

inthegreenroom

a space for artists to connect offstage

